Meet Voleak


Voleak is 21 years old and is the eldest of three siblings. She has completed her grade 12 education, but because schooling cost so much her parents sometimes blame her for their poverty. She is now working in a restaurant and teaches English. 

My name is Voleak and I am 21 years old. I have one sister and one brother. I am the oldest child and I live with my parents. My father is a farmer but he also works as a construction worker as a part-time job. So he can earn some more money to support the whole family. As a farmer he doesn’t earn enough money to support everything in my family. He also supports my brother and sister in their studies. I have already finished my high school but I haven’t been to University yet because my parents cannot afford it. I decided to work in a restaurant so that I have some money to help my family. I also teach English at church after work. My mother is both a farmer and a housewife. She always helps my father in the rice field. I love them so much even though, sometimes they blame me for our family being so poor, because they paid for all my schooling. They did that because they love me. I am so thankful to God that He has called me to be His daughter. I am the only Christian in my family. I have believed in Jesus for 2 years now. I really hope that my family will become Christians one day so that they will know that Jesus Christ is God. He loves them and forgives them. I am still hoping that I will find a better job so that I can help support my whole family. I want to work as a staff in one company in my future and also work as an English Teacher. Thank you God that He is always by my side, he encourages me and He takes out all my hard times. He always forgives each one of us. Amen!